20 Comments
Aug 12, 2022Liked by Jennifer Crichton

Wishing you and your family all the best for this new adventure!

Expand full comment
Jul 31, 2022Liked by Jennifer Crichton

Ohhh good luck! I just moved to Japan from France last week, we only got my son's visa 18 hours before our flight (complicated because we're here because of my husband but he's my son's stepdad so my son needed a separate visa). And 17 hours before we left we signed for an apartment we finally bought in Paris (to be repainted and rented out by me in November when I go back for 2 weeks 😅). My father-in-law also stayed til just before we moved and got Covid so we spent our last two weeks wearing masks at home and trying not to catch it because our two cats were scheduled to arrive in Tokyo on a specific date or else have to wait another 40 days to enter (Japan being rabies-free = nightmare to bring pets).There were a bunch of other crazy stuff including movers only arriving 36 hours before we left having delayed for two days plus bureaucrats in France not wanting to stamp documents we needed at the last minute... So I can imagine what you might be going through!! It's terrifying and and exciting and stressful all at the same time. We"ve moved country seven times and my son is impressively resilient (and trilingual), I think it's brilliant for kids (if daunting as a parent all the same!).

Fingers crossed it all goes well for you and your family xx

Expand full comment
Jul 31, 2022Liked by Jennifer Crichton

That is very exciting news Jen. Wishing you and your family every happiness and success. So pleased you are continuing with The Flock. Thank you for sharing your own personal journey and look forward to hearing all about the next chapter. I’m sure your open and honest thoughts and experiences will continue to challenge our own . Good luck.

Expand full comment
Jul 31, 2022Liked by Jennifer Crichton

Wow, how exciting! Looking forward to reading more about adapting to life in Dubai. I WFH here in the UK for a Dubai-based company (events and publishing) - so get to go out there once a year or so for work. I find the place fascinating! Hope the move goes well. x

Expand full comment
Jul 31, 2022Liked by Jennifer Crichton

Wow congratulations. Can imagine how many emotions are at play at the moment. Look forward to hearing more and sorry we never got to have that coffee. It was nice to think of you down the road!

Expand full comment
Jul 31, 2022Liked by Jennifer Crichton

Currently going through something very similar with my hubby set to start new role in Baku on Monday. Hope your adventure goes well.

Expand full comment
Jul 31, 2022Liked by Jennifer Crichton

Well this is very exciting! My goodness.... I know a few people who have decided to up and leave, I hadn't thought about COVID and how it might have been brought on by the 'itchy feet'!

Expand full comment
Jul 31, 2022Liked by Jennifer Crichton

Congratulations Jen! What an exciting time. I moved from London to Norwich last year and thought that felt like a huge cultural change so would love to hear more about your adventures. I’ve sometimes wondered about selling up and having an adventure in a different country but it’s seems too much like a pipe dream. I’d be interested in hearing about what led you to make the move, and also how you settle in - the unexpected things you miss (if I ever moved somewhere I’d have to make sure I could get hold of marmite!). Wishing you the best of luck with your move! x

Expand full comment

I hope you have had a smooth start in your new home.

I guess depending where in the Middle East I’d be interested to know how you will handle political topics (and feminist topics) when the mainstream press around you may have very different attitudes. And I wonder whether it will feel distinctly like an ex-pat or tourism community or whether you really can become part of a local community when there are sharp contrasts between rights, wealth and culture. But maybe these differences are not so extreme as the UK polarises and social media / digital media allows nearly everyone to access varied viewpoints.

Expand full comment
deletedJul 31, 2022Liked by Jennifer Crichton
Comment deleted
Expand full comment